Cosmo's 2013 Sexiest Man winner Maps Maponyane is a Hunk of the Year finalist

Cosmo’s 2013 Sexiest Man winner Maps Maponyane is a Hunk of the Year finalist

It’s been five years, and the Feather Awards are all grown up – well, as grown up as the country’s cheekiest, most irreverent and unapologetically fabulous awards ceremony can be!

On Tuesday, the nominees for this year’s Feather Awards were announced, and has been nominated in the Media category. Controversially the Gupta family and Mandla Mandela have also been nominated in the Drama Queen of the Year category.

Launched to great fanfare in 2009 as an out, loud and proud celebration of individuals that the gay and lesbian community find inspirational, scandalous, or just plain hilarious, the Feather Awards is an event that celebrates the lighter side of life, while paying tribute to a range of deserving personalities.

“It’s been an incredible five years” commented founder Thami Kotlolo. “A huge part of our job with the Feathers is getting people to understand what we’re about – we’ll never compromise on the Awards’ personality, and it’s been a joy to see how the event has been embraced, and the extent to which people ‘get it.’ And now that we’re all grown up, it’s all about Haute Couture this year – our theme is about the elegant, the outrageous, the glamorous…”

With wacky categories such as Drama Queen of the Year, Fag Hag of the Year, and Socialite of the Year, coupled with more conventional awards for Role Model of the Year and Musician of the Year, the Feather Awards always gets people talking. And the 2013 edition will be no exception to this rule.

An exciting development in this year’s ceremony is a new category, in recognition of media bodies that have made outstanding contributions in depicting honest and positive representations of the gay and lesbian community. The Media Award of the Year pays homage to three new nominees this year; TV drama programmes Intersexions and After 9 and online publication Mambaonline.

A host of new personalities will also find themselves in the spotlight this year as nominees for the event. As always, the Drama Queen of the Year is sure to elicit great interest, while the Hunk of the Year features some of the entertainment industry’s most sizzling personalities. Diva Extraordinaire has a particularly political slant this year, while Sports Personality of the Year plays host to some incredibly inspiring South Africans.

Category finalists and winners are selected and adjudicated by a panel consisting of representatives from the media and the entertainment industry.

The Feathers Awards ceremony will be held in Johannesburg on November 14th.

The categories and finalists for the Feather Awards 2013 are:

Best Styled Female
Azania Mosaka
Anele Mdoda
Minnie Dlamini

Best Styled Male
Maps Maponyane
Da Les
Thapelo Mokoena

Hunk of the Year
Maps Maponyane
Anga Makhubela
Pallance Dladla

Diva Extraordinaire of the Year
Premier Nomvula Mokonyane
David Tlale
Mamphela Rampele

Sports Personality of the Year
S’manga Khumalo (Jockey – Winner, Vodacom Durban July)
Itumeleng Khune
Lucas Sithole (Paralympian – winner, US Open Quad Grand Slam)

Role model of the Year
Thulani Madondo
Terry Pheto
Zoleka Mandela

Cutest Couple
Cameron &Thoba Sithole-Modisane
Mome & Tall Ass Mo
Minnie & Itumeleng

Hot Chick of the Year
Nomzamo Mbatha
Boity Thulo
Lalla Hirayama

Media Award of the Year
Intersexions (SABC1)
After 9 (SABC1)

Fag hag of the Year
Tamara Dey
Akhumzi Jezile
Pearl Thusi

Musician of the Year
Khuli Chana

Socialite of the Year
Samkelo Ndlovu
Lerato Sengadi
Bujy Bikwa

Drama Queen of the Year
The Guptas
Mandla Mandela
Savita Mbuli

For the first time, members of the public can participate in the Feathers voting system, specifically for the Drama Queen of the Year award; a voting SMS line has been set up for the category. SMS your favorite Drama Queen finalist to 47439

Feathers1 – The Guptas
Feathers2 – Mandla Mandela
Feathers3 – Savita Mbuli

Get the Mamba Newsletter

Latest Comments
  1. alex
    Reply -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend