2015 Feather Awards to honour hunks and activists

Actor Vuyo Dabula is a Hunk of the Year nominee

Actor Vuyo Dabula is a Hunk of the Year nominee

The nominees for the 7th Annual Chevrolet Feather Awards have been announced.

The awards are described as a celebration of high-profile individuals – LGBTI and otherwise – who, the organisers say, have inspired, scandalised and amused South Africa’s LGBTI community over the past year.

The controversial event has over the years been criticised by some in the community for not being more focused on LGBTI nominees and issues.

Thami Kotlolo, founder of the Feather Awards, has argued that they are meant to be light-hearted and are not intended to focus on activism.

Nevertheless a number of welcome revisions have been announced to give more weight to the event. This year’s awards are themed ‘Rainbow Africa’ and will see the inaugural African Feather of the Year Award being presented to an African LGBTI activist.

Sponsored by The Other Foundation, the category honours Africans who continue to inspire and uplift the LGBTI community. Seven LGBTI activists from different parts of the continent will be brought to Johannesburg, one of whom will be the recipient of the African Feather of the Year Award.

Another notable change is in the category of Role Model of the Year. That award will now go to a South African LGBTI person or organisation whose work empowers and uplifts the LGBTI community.

Activist Steve Letsike is nominated as a Role Model of the Year

Activist Steve Letsike is nominated as a Role Model of the Year

Firm favourites such as the Hunk of the Year and Drama Queen of the Year remain. The Couple of the Year category features athlete Caster Semenya and her partner and pop star Toya Delazy and her partner Allison.

The invite-only ceremony will be held on November 12th in the heart of the Joburg CBD. It will be hosted by previous winner and funny man Tall Ass Mo and 2015 nominee and TV presenter Luthando ‘LootLove’ Shosha, while actor and presenter Lumko Johnson will run the pink carpet.

“In years to come we will realise the dream of living in a rainbow Africa, free from the killings, the rapes and we will be free to love whomever we love,” commented Kotlolo. “Through this platform we wish to not only celebrate our nominees and winners but to continue igniting dialogues around issues of sexuality and the LGBTI.”

The categories and finalists for the Feather Awards 2015 are:

Best Styled Female
Luthando Shosha
Nomzamo Mbatha
Jessica Nkosi

Best Styled Male
Kay Sibiya
Vuyo Dabula
Minister Malusi Gigaba

Hunk of the Year
Vuyo Dabula
Ricky Rick
Thapelo Mokoena

Diva Extraordinaire of the Year
Ouma Tema
Thato Pule
Bonnie Mbuli

Sports Personality of the Year
Mpho Maboi
Portia Modise
Vaylen Kirtley

Role Model of the Year
Dr Ntlotleng Mabena
Steve Letsike
OUT LGBT Wellbeing

Cutest Couple
Black Motion
Toya Delazy and Allison
Castor Semenya and Violet Raseboya

Hot Chick of the Year
Bonnie Mbuli
Jessica Nkosi
Pearl Modiadie

Media of the Year Award
Ses’Top La
Hola Africa

Fag Hag of the Year
Refilwe Modiselle
Akhumzi Jezile
Atandwa Kani

Musician of the Year
Ricky Rick

Socialite of the Year
Nomuzi Maben a
Maps Maponyane
Vintage Crew

Drama Queen of the Year
Tina and Tina
DJ Sbu
Bonang Matheba

Category finalists and winners are selected and adjudicated by a panel consisting of members of the media and entertainment industry.


Get the Mamba Newsletter

Latest Comments
  1. misanthrope
    Reply -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend