Kenny Kunene

The Feather Awards, which cheekily acknowledges gay-friendly and gay-popular South African celebs, has announced this year’s finalists.

The 2011 event is themed “Glam.R.Us” in homage to the event’s “unapologetic worship of all things fabulous and gay-friendly”.

Launched by Thami Kotlolo in 2009, the tongue-in-cheek Feather Awards is a nod to individuals in the public eye who inspire, scandalise, amuse and thrill South Africa’s gay community.

“I can hardly believe we’re in our third year! Once upon a time, The Feathers seemed like an unattainable dream –and now we’re celebrating a full three years of fabulosity,” enthused Kotlolo.

“The Feathers have always been about having a little fun with our nominees, and not taking ourselves overly seriously – we’re unapologetic about who we are, and claim our right to celebrate.”

In their three years of existence, the Feathers have enjoyed their fair share of hilarity and controversy. Highlights from previous years include Khanyi Mbau and Julius Malema being nominated for Drama Queen of the Year, JC Ngandu’s sexy striptease onstage when he won Hunk of the Year in 2010, and Lira and Bucie’s retro-inspired tribute to Brenda Fassie and Lebo Mathosa.

This year, the list includes a fresh round of nominees who represent “the stylish, scandalous, fabulous and gifted” – as decided by a panel of judges made up of tastemakers and members of the media.

Nominees in the 12 categories are drawn from the sports, entertainment, business and media industries.

Controversial mining magnate, club owner and “sushi king” Kenny Kunene, who recently attended Joburg Pride and has hosted a Mambaonline Sexiest Man of the Year party at his Sandton club, leads the nominations in three categories, including Drama Queen of the Year.

The award ceremony, which will be held on the 8th of November at a to-be-announced Johannesburg venue, promises to pull out all the stops for an evening of fun, irreverence, cheekiness and unbridled glamour.

And the nominees are…

Best Styled Female

Dineo Ranaka

Bonang Matheba

Noni Gasa

Best Styled Male

Siphiwe Mpye

Zakes Bantwini

Siyabonga Ngwekazi

Hunk of the Year

DJ Cleo

Lulo Café

Aubrey Pooe

Diva Extraordinaire of the Year

Noeleen Maholwane Sangqu

Thoko Qoboza
Edith Venter

Sports Personality of the Year

Caster Semenya

Andile Jali

Oscar Pistorious

Role model of the Year

Natalie Du Toit

Terry Pheto

Kabelo Mabalane

Cutest Couple

Black Coffee & Mbali Mlotshwa

DJ Cleo & Bricks

Kenny Kunene & Gayton Mckenzie

Hot Chick of the Year

Minnie Dlamini

Claire Mawisa

Gail Nkoana

Fag hag of the Year

Sophie Ndaba

Kenny Kunene

Zizi Kodwa


Zakes Bantwini




Jen Su

Thembisa Mdoda

Jafta Mamabolo

Drama Queen

Kenny Kunene

Nonhle Thema

Eric Miyeni

Get the Mamba Newsletter

Latest Comments
  1. ALFIE
    Reply -
    • dee
      Reply -
  2. minie
    Reply -
  3. Faith Xabadiya
    Reply -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend