Here are all the 2023 Feather Awards nominees!


Thandiswa Mazwai, Thembinkosi Mthembu, Yaya Mavundla and Tamara Dey are all Feather Awards nominees this year

South Africa’s glitziest, most glamorous, and glittering night of queer celebration is back! The 15th Feather Awards has revealed the “fabulous and fierce” nominees for 2023.

The annual event not only celebrates achievers and role models in the LGBTIQ+ community but also our allies and those who’ve entertained the community with their antics.

This year’s nominees and categories were announced on Friday in Johannesburg. The list includes dazzling stars, inspiring activists and community leaders who have shone brightly.

Even the beleaguered Minister of Electricity, Kgosientsho Ramokgopa, makes an appearance on the list in the Socialite of the Year category.

The winners will be revealed on Thursday, 9th November at the Market Theatre in Johannesburg. For a third consecutive year, the beloved Modiselle sisters – Refilwe, Bontle and Candice – will return as the 2023 hosts.

“This year we are here to celebrate the diversity, creativity, and resilience of all communities, during these challenging times” says Thami Kotlolo, co-founder of the Feather Awards.

“Finding support for our initiatives continues to be a struggle, but we are forever inspired by the boldness and braveness of the queer community in continuing to push boundaries, claim spaces and create greater freedom for all. Thanks to them, we can continue our work in the community at large to educate and sensitise, culminating into this fabulous annual gathering of all things queer and beyond,” adds Kotlolo.

This year, the prestigious Simon Nkoli Award will be presented to multi-talented, award-winning, and proudly queer South African musician Thandiswa Mazwai.

Here are all the 2023 nominees for the Feather Awards:

Best Styled Individual
Musa Keys
Yaya Mavundla

Hunk of the Year
Thembinkosi Mthembu
Mondli Makhoba

Diva Extraordinaire of the Year
Mrs Mops
Sorisha Naidoo
Swanky Jerry

Sports Personality of the Year
Andile Dlamini
Akani Simbine
SA Netball

Role Model of the Year
The Fruit Basket
Tony Kruger
Patsy P. Alley

Cutest Couple
Mandisa Mfeka & Kenay
Buhlebendalo & Botshelo
Xihla & Busi

Hot Chick of the Year
Uncle Waffles
Homba Mazaleni

Media Award of the Year
The Lunch League
Sowetan / S Mag
Kasi 2 Kasi Queer Cinema

Fag Hag of the Year
Nhlanhla Mafu
Tamara Dey
Musa Mthombeni

Designer of the Year (new category)
Gert-Johan Coetzee
Otiz Seflo
Lulama Wolf

Tyler ICU
Bongezizwe Mabandla

Socialite (Seen at every opening of an envelope or an erection of a stop sign)
Lethabo Lejoy Mathatho
Dr Kgosientsho Ramokgopa

Drama Queen
Lebo M
Ayanda Ncwane

Social Media Personality of the Year
Sethu Nkosi
Barbie Jackson
Sabelo The Creator

Best LGBTIQ+ Initiative: Private Sector
Miss SA

Best LGBTIQ+ Initiative: Public Sector
None – do better!

Best LGBTIQ+ Youth Movement
Sacred Heart School
Phuti Lekoloane Foundation

Best Rainbow Parenting
Zodwa Rannyadi
Nandipha Jovuka
Abraham Sebidi

The 15th annual Feather Awards is produced in partnership with the Thami Dish Foundation.


Get the Mamba Newsletter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend